Opportunités.

Accessibilité.

Inclusivité.

Université d'Ottawa | Section de droit civil

Our Mission

The Collectif droit et diversité is committed to the promotion of diversity and the inclusion of all students, regardless of their background, within the legal profession. Our mission is to bring awareness and change on matters of diversity and inclusion so that the lawyers of tomorrow can continue to build a society based on values that will allow it to be fair, just and free from all forms of discrimination. Our goal is to offer students networking opportunities with professionals from various walks of life while supporting various initiatives that promote access to justice.

 

ethnocultural diversity in the legal profession

As stated by the Forum-Pour une profession inclusive written by the Barreau du Québec, racialized groups represent 13% of Quebec’s population. However, only 6% of lawyers come from an ethnic or visible minority. Racialized lawyers are mostly self-employed and practice mainly in immigration law. The high concentration of independent practitioners can lead to isolation due to a lack of social capital. Additionally, the concentration of racialized lawyers in immigration law can have setbacks and is not only the result of voluntary career choices.
 
There is a significant gap in the networks, models, and mentors available to lawyers and law students issued of diversity. Social capital being an essential tool in the legal field, the lack of access to a strong network constitutes a significant setback in their professional development.

 
 

Executive committee

Show More

Noémie Melen-Simard, Marie-Sophie Ontsouka, Luisa Fernanda Montana Martinez and Rayene Bouzitoun are students at the University of Ottawa's civil law section.
They continue with this initiative, started in 2017, to promote inclusion and socio-economic and ethnocultural diversity in the legal field. Through student-led initiatives, they aim to enrich the social capital of minority groups which in turn will provide them better access to professional opportunities.

Subscribe to the

Collectif Droit et Diversité 

Stay up to date with our blog and events!

© 2017-2019

Site crée par Claudia Duong et Safie Diallo.
Modifié par Alex Auger.

© 2017-2019

Site crée par Claudia Duong et Safie Diallo.
Modifié par Alex Auger.

  • Facebook

Opportunités.

Accessibilité.

Inclusivité.

Université d'Ottawa | Section de droit civil

NOTRE MISSION

Le Collectif droit et diversité se porte garant de faire la promotion de la diversité et de l'inclusion des étudiants en droit au sein de la profession juridique. Nous avons pour mission de sensibiliser les juristes de demain à des valeurs qui permettront à notre société d'être juste, équitable et libre de toute forme de discrimination. Notre objectif est d'offrir aux étudiants des opportunités de réseautage avec des professionnels de divers horizons, tout en soutenant différentes initiatives d'accès à la justice.

 

la diversité ethnoculturelle dans la profession juridique

En vertu du Forum - Pour une profession inclusive rédigé par le Barreau du Québec, les groupes racialisés représentent 13 % de notre population québécoise. Cependant, il n'y a que 6 % des avocats qui proviennent d'une communauté culturelle. Ces avocats travaillent en majorité à leur propre compte. Aussi, le domaine de droit de l'immigration et de la citoyenneté constitue en majorité le domaine principal chez les avocats racialisés. En effet, la forte concentration en pratique solo peut mener à un isolement et « la concentration en droit de l’immigration peut comporter des revers et ne résulte pas uniquement de choix volontaires ». 

De plus, il y a une lacune importante quant aux réseaux, modèles et mentors disponibles pour les avocats et étudiants en droit issus d'une communauté culturelle. Le capital social étant primordial dans notre domaine, ce manque d'accès aux réseaux de contacts constitue une déficience importante.

 
 

le comité exécutif

Show More

 Luisa F. Montana Martinez, Janice Sebagenzi, Lidia Mekid, Eyül Recber, Rayene Bouzitoun et Sophie Ontsouka sont des étudiantes à la section de droit civil de l'Université d'Ottawa.

Elles continuent avec cette intiative afin de promouvoir l'inclusion et la diversité socio-économique et ethnoculturelle dans le milieu juridique. Elles visent à enrichir le capital social de groupes minoritaires afin de leur créer un meilleur accès aux opportunités professionnelles.

Abonnez-vous au Collectif Droit et Diversité 

Restez à l'affût de tous nos projets et évènements.